Cricket News sort by Abhishek Mohan Nayar

India Blue led by medium pacer R Vinay Kumar has won the opening game of the NKP Salve Challenger Trophy against Delhi today at the Holkar Stadium in Indore. Although the margin of victory is only 18 runs, one has to say that it was a comprehensive victory for India Blue.

The Selection Committee today named the squads to represent India A in a home series against New Zealand. India A and New Zealand A are scheduled to play a 3-day game, a 4-day game and three one dayers.

These are still early days in the tournament, but enough games have been played for us to try and look at what some of the big buys at this year’s auction have done. Remember, some little-known names from around the cricketing world were purchased for hefty sums by major franchises even as some other well-known ones were ignored.

West Zone's Abhishek Nayar bowled a 17-ball over to equal the world record during the Deodhar Trophy semi-final against South Zone.

As the prestigious Irani Cup kicks off between Ranji champions Mumbai and the Rest of India, we give you a lowdown on the players to watch out for during the crucial clash, which may have a significant bearing on the Indian side that is selected for the Australia series.

The IPL 6 auction threw up a few surprises, with most franchises opting for lesser-known names rather than star players. And so, while the Australian duo of Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke went for their base price, a few others were richer by an unexpected margin.

That Mumbai won the most prestigious Indian domestic tournament for the 40th time wasn’t surprising. The manner in which they fought throughout the series to lay their hands on the trophy though was outright inspiring.

Services who have pleasantly shocked everyone by storming into the Ranji Trophy Semi Finals have gone onto restrict tournament favourties Mumbai to 199 for 6 in the opening day’s play at the Palam Ground in Delhi.

Video Report of Mumbai Vs Tamil Nadu, Quarter Final at Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2011/12