BCCI Earmarks Four-Week Window in March for Women’s IPL

Tags: Women’s IPL, BCCI

Published on: Sep 08, 2022

The final nod for the Women's Indian Premier League has come from BCCI and it has earmarked a window of four weeks for the first edition. All the women's tournaments would be wrapped up by February 21.

The Senior Women's T20 Trophy league stage is scheduled to be held from October 11 to 22. The matches will be hosted by Guwahati, Mumbai, Surat, Vizag and Bengaluru. The knockouts are learned to be held from October 30 to November 6 in Bengaluru.

The Inter-zonal T20 tournament will be held from November 8 to 16 and Lucknow will be hosting the matches. Vizag will be hosting the Senior Women's T20 Challenger games from November 20 to 26. The Senior Women's One-Day Trophy is scheduled to be played from January 18 to February 7.

The BCCI further reveals that as ICC Women's U-19 World Cup is scheduled for next year, the Women's U-19 Trophy will be organized from October 1 to 17.

Meanwhile, as the Inter-zonal T20, as well as one-dayers, have again been introduced, a ODI tournament will be held at the U-15 level and this is being planned for the first time considering the U-19 T20 World Cup preparation. The games are said to be played between December 26 and January 12.

Lakshmi V. Hariharan has been named to coach the women's senior team. Following a successful journey of her cricketing career since debuting against Sri Lanka in January 2014, she retired from all forms of cricket in February 2022. In her career she represented India in sixteen T20s and six ODIs, pocketing a total of 301 runs between 2014 and 2016.

Talking to the media lately she expressed her happiness to start a new career as she was expecting the same opportunity following the end of her cricket career.

Meanwhile, below is the cricket calendar of women's domestic cricket in 2022-23:

October 1-17, 2022: Women’s U-19 Trophy

October 11-22, 2022: Senior Women’s T20 Trophy - Group Stage

October 30 to November 5, 2022: Senior Women’s T20 Trophy - Knockouts

November 8-16, 2022: Inter-zonal T20 tournament

November 20-26, 2022: Senior Women’s T20 Challenger

December 26 to January 12, 2023: Women's U15 One-Day tournament

January 18-February 7, 2023: Women's Senior One Day Trophy

March 2023: Women’s IPL

Related News